Honorary distinction in The Blackburn Society is conferred in recognition of outstanding contributions to leadership in service to the mission and purpose of the Blackburn Institute. Service may be to the state of Alabama, the United States, The University of Alabama, or the Blackburn Institute itself. Individual selected for The Blackburn Society are from among nominations approved by the Executive Committee of the Advisory Board, the Division of Student Affairs, and The University of Alabama. Individuals in The Blackburn Society are invited to participate in Blackburn Institute events and attend meetings of the Advisory Board, but they are neither required to contribute financially to the institute nor eligible to vote on institute affairs.

Members of The Blackburn Society

no image available

Mr. Bill Baxley

Gloria Blackburn

Mrs. Gloria Blackburn


Cheree Causey

Dr. Cheree Causey

Dr. Kathleen Cramer

Bradley Davidson

Mr. Bradley Davidson

David Donaldson

Mr. David Donaldson

no image available

Mr. David Ellwanger

no image available

Mr. Jim Hayes


Michael House

Mr. Michael House

Dr. Sandral Hullett

no image available

Mrs. Ann Jones

no image available

Dr. Harry Knopke

Mr. Gordon Martin

F. David Mathews

Dr. F. David Mathews

no image available

Dr. Gaylon McCollough

no image available

Mrs. Susan McCollough

Marjorie Kay Nix

Mrs. Marjorie Kay Nix

William O’Connor

Mr. William O’Connor

no image available

Mr. Donald Ray Pate, Jr.

Carol Patterson

Mrs. Carol Patterson

no image available

Mr. Donald Patterson


Tom Patterson

Mr. Tom Patterson

no image available

Mrs. Beverly Phifer

Holly Piper

Mrs. Holly Piper

no image available

Dr. Malcolm Portera

Julia Smeds Roth

Mrs. Julia Smeds Roth

John D. Saxon

Mr. John D. Saxon

Bobbie Siegal

Mrs. Bobbie Siegal

no image available

Mr. Don Siegal


Donald Stewart

Mr. Donald Stewart

no image available

Mrs. Connie Stockham

no image available

Mr. Leonard Stolar

Louise Thibodaux

Dr. Louise Thibodaux

no image available

Mr. Edgar Welden