Considered the heart of the Blackburn experience, this annual, two-day symposium brings students, fellows, advisory board members, as well as respected community and state leaders together to hear speakers, participate in round-table discussions, and determine plans of action. Mark your calendar for our next Annual Symposium.

  • 2020 Annual Symposium – August 28-29, 2020
    Keynote Speakers, Dr. Selwyn Vickers (opening speaker) and Mr. Derrick Johnson (closing speaker)
  • 2019 Annual Symposium and 25th Anniversary Celebration – August 23-24, 2019
    Keynote Speaker, Mr. Jimmy Wales
  • 2017 Annual Symposium – August 25-26, 2017
    Keynote Speakers, Mr. Paul Rogat Loeb (opening speaker) and Mr. Bryan Stevenson (closing speaker)
  • 2015 Annual Symposium – August 28-29, 2015
    Keynote Speaker, Mrs. Lilly Ledbetter

This program is generously funded by donations from supporters to The Gloria and John L. Blackburn Academic Symposium Endowed Support Fund and The Frank A. Nix Endowed Memorial Lectureship.