The theme of the Blackburn Institute’s 2023 Annual Symposium, “Civic Engagement in the Age of AI,” will highlight ethical implications of artificial intelligence, while promoting efforts to improve communities and influence society for the common good. Attendees will hear from speakers and panelists working to affect positive change throughout the state of Alabama and beyond, including those specifically addressing challenges related to AI.

The in-person event held Friday, August 25 and Saturday, August 26 will take place at Bryant Conference Center in Tuscaloosa.

Special features of this year’s symposium include public keynote lectures (Frank A. Nix Endowed Memorial Lectureship); Friday’s full community dinner; the return of Coffee and Conversations; Saturday’s full community lunch; and presentations of the Siegal Scholarship, the Howell Heflin Fellows Program grant, and the Fellow of the Year Award.


The Annual Symposium submission portal is now open. Individuals can propose a session, recommend a speaker, or suggest a topic for a roundtable discussion. Please watch the webinar about submitting an Annual Symposium proposal for more information.

Find the proposal timeline below:

  • Friday, June 9 at 11:59 p.m. – Deadline for submission of session proposal forms
  • Friday, June 23 at 5 p.m.  – Notification of status (accept or decline) to those submitting session proposal forms
  • Friday, July 7 at 11:59 p.m. – Deadline for submission of finalized session information to include panelist biographies and professional headshots photographs

Schedule of Events

The draft schedule of events for Blackburn students, Fellows, Advisory Board members and Blackburn Society members.

Fellows Reunion

Fellows from the 2013 and 2003 classes (and their friends and mentors) are invited to gather to celebrate their 10 and 20 year anniversaries with the Institute.

In addition to the Fellows Reunion Social Friday, August 26, 2022, 9 p.m. to midnight at Black Warrior Brewing Company, the Institute and the class coordinators are planning other activities to acknowledge these Fellows and help them to reconnect.

Contact your one of the class coordinators for more details.

Hotel Accommodations

The Blackburn Institute has a discounted rate room block at Hotel Capstone, next door to the Bryant Conference Center Annual Symposium venue.  To book a room, please call (800) 477-2262 by deadline and ask to book into the “Blackburn Institute Symposium” block.

We have a second discounted rate room block at the Hotel Indigo. The deadline to reserve a room is July 8. To book, use the discount link or call (877)-666-3243 and ask to book into the “Blackburn Institute Symposium” block.